Search This Blog

Tuesday, May 4, 2010

PEAK and Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs.

Maslow was the father of human potential theory. He believed that man was a striving animal, who had needs to be satisfied, and when satisfied at one level of needs, who seeks to attain the next level on the hierarchy of needs. So if #5 is at the base and #1 is at the height (peak) of Maslow’s hierarchy, the pyramid often used to depict the hierarchy, it looks like this:
1. Self Actualization—The “peak” experience (in the “zone”) when all other needs (#5-2) are finally met.
2. Esteem—The feeling of deep self worth.
3. Social Belonging—Being accepted as part of a group or organization.
4. Safety—Free to roam about without fear of danger or threat.
5. Physiological Needs—water, food, air, and that which sustains life.

Conley refashions Maslow’s hierarchy of needs to what he calls the “Transformational Pyramid” and holds that people and organizations that have only accounted for levels #4 (Safety) and #5 (Physiological) create a level of development that he calls “Survival.”

Organizations that take it up a couple of notches to the #3 level (Social Belonging) and #2 (Esteem) create a level of corporate development he calls “Success.”

And finally, those few that make it to the highest level #5 (Self Actualization) attain what Conley calls the “Transformation.” This final level or zone of rarified air should be the aspiration of all companies, despite the fact that many companies may start and operate at the survival level.

Conley uses his Transformational Pyramid to analyze the basic motivations of a company’s important stakeholders: Employees, customers, and investors.

No comments:

Google Analytics